Miracle Exam Centres: Government Shuts 35 Schools Over Malpractice (See List)

Reading Time: 2 minutes

The presentation of candidates for the West African Secondary School Certificate Examination has been prohibited in 35 secondary schools in Rivers state (WASSCE). According to reports, the schools were barred from participating over examination malpractice.

West Africa Examinations Council WAEC
West Africa Examinations Council WAEC

The concerned schools’ proprietors have been notified that their institutions have been de-recognized by the River State Ministry of Education.

S.D. Kum, the Deputy Registrar/Zonal Coordinator for the Head of the National Office of the West African Examinations Council (WAEC), signed the letter. All of the schools affected by the prohibition, according to Kum, would not register applicants for the exam until further notice.

Some schools in the state have earned the moniker “Miracle Centres,” where all kinds of examination malpractices are tolerated.

The “miracle centres” are said to be frequented by desperate candidates and their parents.

Full List

Private schools EL-Olam global academy, Ogbogoro Rehoboth Int’l Secondary School Christ Secondary School, Nonwa Midland Int’l Christian Sec. Sch, Port Harcourt Rootway Compre. College, Port Harcourt Charry Compre. Sec. Sch, Port Harcourt Millennium High School, Port Harcourt.

Sonny Memorial College, Diobu Sit-up International School, Oyigho Rich-Model Secondary School, Oyigbo Excel Comprehensive College, Okrika Victory High School, Port Harcourt Atlantic Heralds High School, Port Harcourt Nigerian Christian Comp. College, Asarunia Nobsams International School, Igbo Etche Unique International Secondary School, Etche Ranjenny’s High School, Ogale Nchia Eleme Baptist Vocational College, Aboada John Wesley College, Bori.

Others are Community Secondary School, Ido Community Secondary School, Baranyowa Dere Community Secondary School, KONO Boue Community Secondary School, Kpean Comprehensive High School, Sii Khanna Kono Secondary School, Kono Community Secondary School, Baen Comm. Secondary School.

Ngo-Uyeada Community Secondary School, Abam-ama Community Secondary School, Ban-Ogoi Tua-Tua Community Secondary School, Korokoro Joinkrama Girls’ Secondary School, Joinkrama Western Ahoada County High School, Ahoada Community Secondary School, Ebubu Eleme.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »