FG Approves 14 Roads to be Reconstructed By Corporate Organizations

Due to current economic challenges and debt burden, the federal government has decided to allow corporate organizations to take over the reconstruction of major highways.

On Monday, July 5, 2021, the Buhari administration has now added 14 new road projects into its Road Infrastructure Tax Credit Scheme (RITCS), which allows private corporate organisations (companies) to build certain federal roads at tax concessionary rates.

With these 14 new inclusions, the total number of roads that will be built through this scheme has risen from 19 to 33, having already approved 19 in 2019 which the companies have begun to execute. The new approval implies that 1,564.95km will now be constructed by the companies. The 19 earlier roads had a total of 794.40km, located within the six geopolitical regions of the country.

The corporate organisations taking up these concessionary projects are:

(1.) Dangote Industries Limited: Construction of Deep Seaport access road through Epe to Sagamu – Benin Expressway; Construction of Kaaba – Ekiti boundary road in Kobi/Ekiti states; Reconstruction of the Ohafia – Arochukwu Arochukwu road in Abia State and Reconstruction of the Enugu – Onitsha Expressway in Enugu/Anambra states

(2.) BUA Group: Bode Saadu road and bridges; Kosubosu road in Kwara State; Lafiagi road and bridge in Bacita, Kwara State; Eyenkorin road and bridge, Offa in Kwara/Osun states, and Bukuro road and bridges, Okuta in Kwara linking to the Benin Republic and Osun State

(3.) Access Bank: Construction of the Oniru axis road of Victoria Island Lekki Traffic Circulation

(4.) GZI Industries Limited: Reconstruction of Umueme villae road, Obingwa Local Government Area, Abia State

(5.) Mainstream Energy Solutions Limited: Construction of Malando – Garin Baka, Baka – Ngaskl – Wara road in Niger/Kebbi states; Construction of the Sabon Gari Yuni – Shagwa – Auna road in Niger State, and Rehabilitation of the Mokwa – Nassarawa road in Niger State

(6.) Transcorp Group: Oyigbo – Izuoma – Mirinwayi – Oklama – Afam road in Oyigbo Local Government Area, Rivers State

(7.) MTN Nigeria Telecommunications Ltd: Construction of the Enugu – Onitsha Expressway.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More