APC Primaries: Aregbesola loses ward to Oyetola

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Even though a primary election was held in the area and Governor Gboyega Oyetola was proclaimed the winner, Interior Minister Rauf Aregbesola remained absent from his Ifofin Ward 8, Ilesa East Local Government.

Rauf Aregbesola
Rauf Aregbesola

Oyetola received 309 votes, compared to 146 for Moshood Adeoti, Aregbesola's preferred candidate.

Adegoke Saheed, the ward's factional chairman of the APC, alleged manipulation in an interview with our correspondent.

He also confirmed Aregbesola's absence from the drill.

According to him, "They brought a party register that was not the original. I supervised the registration and I told those that brought the register that it was not the original.

“So people that are supporting us, we could not find their names in the register. I told them the list has been doctored but they did not listen to me. When they wanted to count, they said those that voted for Oyetola are over 300 and when they counted those that voted for us up to 146, they disrupted the exercise and said they should not count again.

“They didn’t bring the result sheet. They just pack their papers and ran away. This is ward of Hon Minister, Rauf Aregbesola. I was told when I asked about his whereabouts that Ogbeni went on official assignment. He was not around.”

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »