PDP wins 13 of 24 Bayelsa Assembly seats​

Reading Time: 1 minute

The Peoples Democratic Party has won 13 out of the 14 state House of Assembly seats in Bayelsa, according to results released so far.

In the summary of results signed by the INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner in the state, Baritor Kpagih, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Israel Goli, won the 14th seat, Brass Constituency.

Mr Goli defeated the PDP candidate and incumbent Deputy Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Sam Ateki.

The PDP candidates who won include the current Speaker of the House, Konbowei Benson, and Southern Ijaw 4.

Others are Abraham Ingobere, Brass Constituency 3; Ololo Ben, Nembe Constituency 1; Ingo Iwowari, Nembe Constituency 2; Obiene Iniyobiyo, Nembe Constituency 3; Mitema Obodor, Ogbia Constituency 1; Naomi Ogoli, Ogbia Constituency 2; Salo Adikumo, Sagbama Constituency 3; Monday Obolo, Southern Ijaw 2; Daniel Igali, Southern Ijaw 3; Parkinson Markmanuel, Yenagoa 1; Ebiuwou Obiyai, Yenagoa 2; and Gentle Emelah, Yenagoa 3.

There was however no election in Brass Constituency 2 due to the insistence of some youth to see the ward collation results sheets before accreditation.

Meanwhile, the election in Ogbia Constituency 2 was declared inconclusive.

Elections in eight out of the 24 constituencies in the state were rescheduled by a week due to a shortage of ballot papers.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »