Chief Justice swears in judges tasked to investigate suspended Justice Mary Muthoni

This is a Trial Version of Social Share & Locker Pro plugin. Please add your purchase code into Licence section to enable the Full Social Share & Locker Pro Version.

Chief Justice Martha Koome has sworn in an 11-member tribal appointed to investigate the conduct of Environment and Land Court Lady Mary Muthoni Gitumbi.

The ceremony took place at Supreme Court in Nairobi.

The tribunal consists of Lady Justice Hellen Omondi (chairperson), Hon. Justice Luka Kiprotich Kimaru, Hon. Lady Justice Linnet Ndolo, Peter Munge Murage, Mary Martha Nyakado Bonyo, Dr. Frank Njenga and Dr. Margaret Othieno Makonyengo.

Josiah Musili and Dr. Patrick Amoth are doubling up as Joint Secretaries, whereas Emmanuel Omondi Bitta will be the Lead Counsel and Peter Muriithi Njeru as the Assisting Counsel.

In a Gazette Notice dated August 24, 2021, President Uhuru Kenyatta suspended Justice Muthoni over mental incapacity following recommendations by the Judicial Service Commission (JSC).

The tribunal will consider Justice Muthoni’s removal and submit its report and recommendations to the Chief Justice.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Translate »