Eric Theuri is the new LSK president

Reading Time: 1 minute

Eric Theuri has been elected the new president of the Law Society of Kenya (LSK).

The incoming president trounced his other four competitors in a hotly contested election held on Thursday, March 10, 2022.

He got 1811 votes, ahead of the outgoing vice president Carolyne Kamende who garnered 108d votes. Omwanza Ombati emerged third with 920 votes while Mathew Nyabena and Bernhard Ng’etich came third and fourth with 745 and 452 votes respectively.

At the same time, Faith Odhiambo clinched the vice president post after garnering 1734 votes, beating Ajwang Debra and Boniface Akusala who got 1328 and 1333 votes respectively.

Jacquiline Ingutiah was elected as the LSK female representative to the Judicial Service Commission (JSC).

Theuri has lauded the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) for conducting free, fair and transparent elections and his competitors for conceding defeat. He promised to unite the society by bringing all senior and junior lawyers on board.

“All glory to God. Thanks, my worthy competitors for a race well ran and conceding defeat. We forge forward,” he said.

Theuri will replace the former president Nelson Havi who has ventured into politics.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »