Kenya announce 15-man squad for HSBC Sevens World Series

Reading Time: 1 minute

Kenya Sevens head coach Innocent Simiyu has named a 15-man squad for the HSBC Sevens World Series, which kicks off on 18th-19th September in Vancouver before heading to Edmonton for the second leg of the series slated for 25th and 26th September.

He has also included nine trialists in the set and will continue calling more players for trials until they settle for the additional nine.

"Our team selection is based on the last squad performance up to Tokyo, where we have retained 15 players and called up nine trialists on Kenya Performance.

The total squad number for this season is 24 players, as it is a long one. We also have one foreign-based player-Willy Ambaka, who will join us based on his availability," said Simiyu.

Simiyu focuses on getting a solid team that will win a medal at the 2022 Commonwealth games in Birmingham and the RWC 7s in Cape Town.

The Commonwealth Games will run from July 28 to August 8, 2022, while RWC 7s will be held from 9th to September 11.

Training squad: Harold Anduvate, Vincent Onyala, Alvin Otieno, Herman Humwa, Dan Sikuta, Timothy Mmasi, Tony Omondi, Johnstone Olindi, Daniel Taabu, Mark Kwemoi, Nelson Oyoo, Jeffrey Oluoch, Billy Odhiambo, Derrick Keyoga, Levy Amunga, Edmund Anya, Jone Kubu, Ben Salem, Brian Tanga, Alvin Marube, Kevin Wekesa, Derrick Ashiundu, Andrew Matoka, Bush Mwale.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »