Matiang'I Declares A Public Holiday In Eight Areas

Reading Time: 1 minute

Kenya's Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang'i has declared a public holiday in eight areas set to hold elections on Monday.

The areas include Mombasa County, Kakamega County, Kitui Rural Constituency, Kacheliba Constituency, Pokot South Constituency, Rongai Constituency, Kwa Njenga Ward (Embakasi South Constituency) and Nyaki West Ward (Imenti North Constituency).

"In accordance with the Constitution of Kenya (Articles 101 (1), 177 (1) (a) and 180 (1) and the Public Holidays Act (Sections 2(4) and 3), Monday, August 29, 2022, has been declared a public holiday in the listed electoral areas," said Matiang'i.

The elections in these areas were postponed on August 9 after discovering an error on ballot papers.

The CS implored employers across the country to allow registered employees in the listed electoral areas to vote.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »