Nakuru is Kenya's fourth city

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Wednesday conferred city status on Nakuru town, making it Kenya's fourth city after Nairobi, Mombasa and Kisumu.

Speaking shortly after signing and handing over the conferment documents to Nakuru Governor Lee Kinyanjui, the President challenged Nakuru City residents to take advantage of the new status's opportunities to improve their wellbeing.

"The award of the charter means that Nakuru is the fourth city in the country, and it becomes attractive for business as it attracts investors to put up factories, industries creating employment for the youth," the President said.

He said Nakuru's elevation demonstrated the success of devolution and the collaboration between national and county governments in the delivery of public services urging the new city's residents to maintain peace as the political season approaches.

"Historically, Nakuru is a melting pot where all communities live harmoniously. It is a known fact that whatever happens in Nakuru politically will affect the whole country. It is said when Nakuru burns, the whole country burns, and if Nakuru is calm, then the nation is also calm," President Kenyatta said.

“We are giving you a city knowing that the peace in Nakuru will be extended to all corners of this country,” he added.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Translate »
Share on Social Media