Roseline Odede nominated as KNCHR chairperson

Reading Time: 1 minute

President Uhuru Kenyatta has chosen Roseline Doreen Adhiambo Odhiambo-Odede, a former Vice Chairman of the Judges and Magistrate Vetting Board, to serve as the chairperson of the Kenya National Commission on Human Rights (KNCHR).

Prof Marion Mutugi Wanjiku, Dr. Raymond Plal Sang Nyeris, Sarah Talaso Bonaya, and Dennis Nyongesa Wamalwa were all nominated by the President to serve on the human rights commission.

Dr. Raymond Plal Sang Nyeris was also nominated by the President.

In a message read by Deputy Speaker Moses Cheboi during Wednesday's special session of the National Assembly, Uhuru requested that the House expedite the hearing on their approval.

“In the Message, H.E. The President conveys that, in exercise of powers conferred on him by Article 250(2)(b) of the Constitution, in accordance to the procedure set out in section 11(3) of the Kenya National Commission on Human Rights Act (Act No. 14 of 2011), as read together with sections 3 and 5 of the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act, 2011, he nominates the following persons for appointment to the Offices of Chairperson and Member of the Kenya National Commission on Human Rights, respectively,” read part of President’s message.

Cheboi forwarded the subject to the Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs for consideration and approval hearings, which would be held as soon as possible.

The nominations will be considered by the House within 28 days after the date on which the House returns from its long recess on January 25, 2022.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »