Ruto Says He Will Appoint Judges Rejected By Uhuru

Reading Time: 1 minute

President William Ruto has announced that he will appoint six Court of Appeal judges rejected by his predecessor President Uhuru Kenyatta.

Ruto revealed that immediately he was sworn in as the fifth President of Kenya.

He said he will appoint the judges on Tuesday afternoon and preside over their swearing-in on Wednesday.
"To demonstrate my commitment to the independence of the judiciary, this afternoon, I will appoint the six judges already nominated for appointment to the court of appeal, which was done three years ago by the Judicial Service Commission," he said.

The judges include High Court judges Aggrey Muchelule, George Odunga, Weldon Korir, and Joel Ngugi.

Others were Chief Magistrate Evans Makori and High Court registrar Judith Omange, who were recommended to be labor court judges.

The six judges were left out when Kenyatta appointed 34 others.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »