Search For Kenya's Next EALA Representative Begins

Reading Time: 2 minutes

The Process of looking for Kenya's next set of representatives to the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) kicked off on Tuesday, following the first meeting of the Joint Committee on the Selection of Members to the EALA.

The Joint Committee, established by the two Houses, is co-chaired by Immediate former EALA MP. and now MP for Kipipiri Constituency, the Hon. Wanjiku Muhia, and Makueni Senator, Sen. Daniel Maanzo.

Following the Joint Select Committee meeting on the Election of Members to EALA, interested persons now await notification by the Clerks of the Senate and the National Assembly on the nomination dates and the rules governing the election.

Candidates will be expected to liaise with their preferred political parties for nomination, while those interested in vying as independent candidates may submit their applications to either Clerks.

The nine Legislators are expected to report to Arusha, the seat of the regional legislature, by 20th December, when the life of the current EALA ends. All the Member Partners, except for Kenya and the Democratic Republic of Congo, have elected their representatives to the regional assembly.

The East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA) is the independent legislative arm of the East Africa Community (EAC), established under Article 9 of the EAC Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community. EALA membership comprises of nine (9) members elected by each partner state. The assembly plays a critical role in the furtherance of the EAC objectives.

The Treaty guides the Election of Members to the East African Legislative Assembly for the Establishment of the East African Community and the East African Legislative Assembly Elections Act, 2011. Articles 50 and 51 of the Treaty provide for the Election of Members of the Assembly and the Tenure of Office of Elected Members, respectively.

Specifically, Article 51(1) provides that an elected assembly member shall hold office for five years and is eligible for re-election for a further term of five years.

Further, the East African Legislative Assembly Elections Act, 2011 provides for the election of Members to the Assembly while Section 4(1) of the Act outlines that the election of Members to the Assembly shall be conducted in accordance with the rules of procedure of the Legislatures of the Partner States.

Further, section 4(2) requires that Member States elect nine members to the assembly. The election should be held within ninety (90) days before the expiry date of the outgoing assembly.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »