Senate Vote To Elect EALA Representatives

Reading Time: 3 minutes

Kenya's Senate voted on Thursday to elect the nine members who will represent Kenya in the 5th East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) in Arusha, Tanzania.

In the final results announced by Speaker Amason Kingi, former Senator Hassan Omar, who is a member of the ruling United Democratic Alliance (UDA), garnered 46 out of the votes cast in the 67-member chamber.

Ms. Iman Falhada, who served in the Senate between 2017/22, received 43 votes, Fred Muteti garnered 39 votes, Zipporah Kerring 37 votes, David Sankok 35 votes, and Mwangi Maina received 29 votes.

Abdikadir Adan, a current member of EALA, received 12 votes, and Iringo Kubai garnered 12 votes. Joel Okengo garnered 2 votes, Sheikh Ali 2 votes, and Lilian Tomitom 2 votes.

UDA party, led by President William Ruto, has been allocated five out of the nine slots available to Kenya, while the opposition, Azimio la Umoja Coalition, has four seats.

In the votes cast in favour of the Azimio candidates, Kennedy Kalonzo received 45 votes to emerge as the top among the Azimio candidates. Mombasa businessman Suleiman Shahbal received 38 votes, while Winnie Odinga garnered 35.

Former Wajir County Woman Representative Fatuma Gedi received 31 votes, while Kanini Kega, who served as Kieni MP in the 12th Parliament, garnered 29 votes.

Others on the opposition ticket, which includes ODM, Jubilee, and Wiper Democratic party, are Mohamed Diriye (4 votes), Timothy Bosire (17 votes), Justus Kizito (9 votes), Jeremiah Kioni (1 vote), Beatrice Askul (1 vote) and Hellen Mueni one vote.

However, the figures are only some of the final results, as the candidates will have to wait for the outcome of a similar process in the National Assembly.

The votes each candidate will receive in the National Assembly will be tallied with what they have scored in the Senate before the winners in the nine slots are unveiled.

The term of the 4th EALA will lapse on December 17, paving the way for the inauguration of the 5th Assembly in Arusha on December 18.

The swearing-in of the new EALA members in December will be followed by the election of the Speaker and Members to the EALA Commission and the constitution of various Committees.

Apart from making a budget, the Assembly is also mandated to consider annual reports on the activities of the Community, annual audit reports of the Audit Commission, and any other reports referred to it by the Council of Ministers.

It also discusses all matters pertaining to the Community and makes recommendations to the Council as necessary for the implementation of the Treaty.

The Assembly may also perform any other functions as are conferred upon it by the Treaty.
Like all other parliaments, EALA is empowered to make its own Rules of Procedure and to constitute Committees.

EALA maintains seven standing committees: Accounts; Agriculture, Tourism and Natural Resources; General Purpose; Commission; Legal, Rules and Privileges; Regional Affairs and Conflict Resolution; and Trade Communication and Investment.

EALA is the legislative arm of the East African Community (EAC). It was established in 2001, and its mandate includes legislation, representation, and oversight. It is constituted of nine elected members from each of the Partner States.

Article 49 of the East African Community Treaty provides that the responsibilities of the East African Legislative Assembly are to "be the legislative organ of the Community", "liaise with the National Assemblies of the Partner States on matters relating to the Community", "debate and approve the budget of the Community.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »