Dekow Mohamed Wins Garissa Township Parliamentary By-election

Reading Time: 1 minute

Dekow Mohamed has been declared the winner of the Garissa Township Parliamentary by-election held on Thursday.

Mohamed, who vied on United Democratic Alliance (UDA) ticket, garnered 11,572 votes. Nassir Mohamed of the United Democratic Movement (UDM) emerged second with 8,158 votes.

Ibrahim Malow of Narc Kenya got 840 votes, and ODM's Abdifaisal Amin (ODM) garnered 447 votes.

Former Fafi MP Abdikarim Osman of DP got 59 while Muhiadin Abdirashid of DAP-Kenya garnered 20 votes.

The seat fell vacant after President William Ruto appointed Aden Duale as the Defence Cabinet Secretary.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »