EALA Nominees Present Their Papers To Parliament

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Political Parties and Independent applicants in Kenya seeking membership to the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) have presented their papers to the Parliament.

Fifteen nominees of the Kenya Kwanza Alliance Coalition submitted their papers in a bid to secure membership to EALA.

National Assembly Majority Leader, Kimani Ichungwa and his Senate counterpart Aaron Cheruiyot presented their nominees before Jeremiah Nyegenye, Clerk of the Senate, and Samuel Njoroge, Clerk of the National Assembly, who served as the Presiding officers and received the nominee submissions.

Former Legislators were among the nominees. Political Party nominees must present duly filled nomination forms, including evidence of nomination by their parties, Kenya Kwanza Coalition or Azimio la Umoja Alliance, a written record of minutes of the party meeting at which the candidate was nominated, and an affidavit.

Following a thorough verification process by the Presiding Officers, the candidates were awarded the candidates with Provisional Nomination Certificates.

On the other hand, the Azimio la Umoja One Kenya Coalition party was led by Opiyo Wandayi, Minority Leader in the National Assembly, who presented their papers for consideration to EALA.

Azimio presented a total of 12 candidates. They were all considered to have met the requirements and were given provisional nomination certificates.

Pursuant to the East African Legislative Assembly Elections Rules, 2017, Independent nominees are required to present a duly filled nomination form, detailed CV, certified copies of certificates, signatures of at least 1000 registered voters from their respective constituency or 2000 signatures from their respective county.

However, most of the independent nominees did not meet the requisite provisions. Duncan Mwangi Ndegwa was the exception becoming the only Independent candidate that received the provisional nomination certificate.

On Thursday and Friday, members of the public will have the opportunity to inspect the nomination papers of the candidates, after which the Presiding Officers will then transmit their names to the Joint Committee on Election of Members to the EALA.

The Joint Committee, co-chaired by Wanjiku Muhia and Daniel Maanzo, will consider the nominations and Report to the Houses of Parliament.

The Presiding Officers will then Gazette the Election date. The election process will occur concurrently in the National Assembly and the Senate.

The Elected Members to EALA will be Gazetted on 18th November 2022, and their names will be transmitted to the Clerk of the East African Legislative Assembly.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »