Governors Elect To Be Sworn In Next Week

Reading Time: 1 minute

Twenty-eight governors are set to be sworn in on Thursday, August 25, 2022.

The ceremony will take place in 28 counties namely Kajiado, Kiambu, Makueni, Baringo, Kirinyaga, Samburu, Kisumu, Kitui, Marsabit, Taita Taveta, Laikipia, Wajir, Isiolo and Kwale.

Others are Trans Nzoia, Tharaka Nithi, West Pokot, Elgeyo Marakwet , Uasin Gishu, Garissa, Turkana, Machakos, Mandera, Nyandarua, Vihiga , Kisii, Nandi and Migori.

Chief Justice Martha Koome has appointed forty-seven judges to preside over the swearing-in.

Some of the judges are William Musyoka (Kisumu), Weldon Korir (Nakuru) and James Wakiaga (Nyeri), Lady Justices Aburili (Nairobi), Rachael Ngetich (Garissa, Dora Chepkwony (Kakamega), Lucy Njuguna, Justices George Dulu and David Majanja (Machakos).

"The Assumption of Office of Governor Act, 2019 requires that upon election into the office of Governor and Deputy Governor, the Judiciary shall appoint judges to oversee the swearing-in of the Governor and Deputy Governor-elect by the Act. In that regard, I hereby appoint the judges as per the schedule attached herein to conduct the swearing-in ceremony upon election and gazettement by the IEBC," said Koome.

All newly elected governors must be sworn in 10 days after the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission declares them winners.

On August 9, 45 counties elected their governors. The governor elections in Mombasa and Kakamega have been postponed.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »