IEBC Holds Election Planning Meeting ahead of 2022 elections

Reading Time: 1 minute

Kenya’s electoral agency, Independent Electoral and Boundary Commission (IEBC) is holding a planning meeting in readiness for the second and final phase of the Enhanced Continuous Voter Registration (ECVR).

The meeting is taking place at Naivasha, northwest of Nairobi.

During this second phase of ECVR, the Commission shall extend the registration to eligible Kenyan voters living in the diaspora in 12 countries including Burundi, Tanzania, Rwanda, Uganda, South Africa, United Kingdom, Canada, United States, South Sudan, Qatar, United Arab Emirates and Germany.

The Commission has undertaken mapping and stakeholder engagement for 7 new countries (United Kingdom, Canada, United States, South Sudan, Qatar, United Arab Emirates and Germany) where it shall conduct registration as part of the progressive realization of the right to vote for citizens living outside the country.

“Section 6 of the Elections Act, 2011 provides for voters to inspect and verify their registration details in the Register of Voters at least sixty (60) days before the General Election. This exercise is meant to promote transparency and accountability in the electoral process,” announced the commission.

The first round of the registration was held between October 4 and November 9, 2021. The agency registered 1,519,294 new voters against a target of six million new voters.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »