Kenya Elects Nine Members To EALA

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Kenyan Parliament has elected nine members who will represent the country in the 5th East African legislative Assembly (EALA) in Arusha, Tanzania.

The nine members are Kennedy Musyoka, Winnie Odinga, Kanini Kega, Hassan Omar, Zipporah Kerring, Maina Mwangi, Suleiman Shabal, David Sankok and Imana Falhada.

Musyoka garnered 217 votes to make history as the first Kenyan member of EALA to retain his seat since the first Assembly was inaugurated in 2001.

The eight new members will serve a five-year term and are eligible for re-election for another subsequent five-year term, except Musyoka, who will be serving his final term once he is sworn into the Assembly.

The elections were carried out by both the Senate and the National Assembly pursuant to the Treaty establishing the East African Community (EAC) and the EALA election Act, 2011.

National Assembly Deputy Speaker Gladys Boss Shollei announced the final outcome after the results garnered by all the 27 candidates on the ballot were consolidated from the votes each candidate received in both Houses.

UDA party, led by President William Ruto, has been allocated five out of the nine slots available to Kenya, while the opposition, Azimio la Umoja-OKA Coalition, has four seats.

A total of 58 votes were cast in the 67-member Senate. Two of the votes were spoilt.

The National Assembly has a total of 349 members. However, during the vote, only 320 MPs cast their ballots, out of which 14 were spoilt.

A total of 27 candidates were on the ballot. The seats are distributed according to the political party's strength in Parliament.

The regulation requires each parliamentary party eligible to nominate candidates for the election to nominate up to three times the number from which MPs choose.

EALA is the legislative arm of the East African Community (EAC). It was established in 2001, and its mandate includes legislation, representation and oversight. It is composed of nine elected members from each of the Partner States.

The term of the current house will lapse on December 17 this year, and the EALA Act requires the Clerk of the Tanzanian Parliament to convene the first sitting of a new session of the Assembly, Tanzania being the host of the Assembly's chamber.

The swearing-in of the new EALA members in December will be followed by the election of the Speaker and Members to the EALA Commission and the constitution of various Committees.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »