Second phase of voter registration kicks off ahead of August polls

Reading Time: 1 minute

Kenya’s Independent Electoral and Boundary Commission (IEBC) has rolled out the second and final phase of the Enhanced Continuous Voter Registration (ECVR).

The exercise runs from January 17, 2022, to February 6, the same year.

Phase II offers the last opportunity for eligible Kenyans to register as voters, transfer to another registration centre or change particulars.

The registration will be rolled out in all county assembly wards, Institutions of Higher Learning and Huduma Centres countrywide.

The commission said it targets 4.5 million new voters.

IEBC will also conduct diaspora voter registration in 12 countries for citizens residing outside Kenya for a period of 15 days from January 21.

The countries are Burundi, Tanzania, Rwanda, South Africa, South Sudan, UK, USA, Germany, Canada, Qatar and United Arab Emirates.

The Diaspora registration will take place at Kenyan Embassies, High Commissions and Consulates in the respective countries.

“Diaspora voters will only vote for their preferred presidential candidate,” said the IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati in a statement issued on Monday.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »