Uhuru appoints four IEBC commissioners

Reading Time: 1 minute

President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed four Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioners following a successful approval by the Parliament.

In a Gazette Notice dated September 1, 2021, the President appointed Irene Masit, Justus Nyang’aya, Juliana Cherera, and Francis Wanderi to fill the vacant positions in the commission.

The four were nominated by Kenyatta last month and vetted by the National Assembly’s Justice and Legal Affairs Committee.

They replace Consolata Nkatha, Margaret Mwachanya, Paul Kurgat, and Roselyn Akombe, who resigned.

Chief Justice Martha Koome will swear in the appointees before assuming office.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Translate »