Uhuru’s move to punish rebels

Reading Time: 1 minute

President Uhuru’s Jubilee Party is planning to take action against rebel Members of Parliament holding parliamentary committees.

The outfit had written show-cause letters to five MPs, instructing them to explain why they should keep their positions since they were no longer loyal to the President and his ruling Jubilee Party.

The MPs are David Gikaria (Nakuru Town East), Katoo Ole Metito (Kajiado South), Catherine Waruguru (Laikipia Woman Rep), Ali Wario (Bura) and Kareke Mbiuki (Maara), Rashid Mwashetani (Lunga Lunga) and William Kisang’ (Marakwet West).

They have seven days to respond and provide reasons that are satisfactory and convincing.

The affected legislators have shifted their allegiance to deputy president William Ruto’s United Democratic Alliance (UDA).

National Assembly Majority Whip, Emmanuel Wangwe, stated that if the MP does not provide satisfactory answers, the party is allowed to de-whip them.

“Pursuant to Standing Orders 176 (1) and 176 (2) you are here notified that Jubilee Party nominated you for the departmental Committee on Communication Information and Technology,” one of the letter’s read.

©Standard Gazette, 2021. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s publisher is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Standard Gazette with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »